Pardon my Rant – re: Conference Session Titles

Pawing through the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE) conference guide, and thinking seriously about attending this year. Already definitely attending the American Alliance for Theatre and Education (AATE) conference, also in Chicago. (All you readers out there should come to that one, by the way, so you can attend my session on the Safe Theatre Project– just sayin.) So have to make sure the funding to attend both will work out, as well as the timing around my other professional obligations here in the Eastern Standard Time Zone.

Now for the promised rant: I have to say, I really despise vague and bizarrely titled sessions. I will refrain from mentioning examples in case one of the presenters is one day in the position to offer me a job, but those of you who are regulars in the conference circuit should be able to recall many such confusing titles in your conference books of yore. Yes, once I attend a conference I am given access to lengthy descriptions of whatever it is the session/workshop/panel is supposed to be about– but I really don’t have a lot of time to waste looking further into sessions whose title give me no earthly idea what it is their supposed to be about. Expound in your session description. Get metaphorically interesting in the panel discussion. I promise you, if people are able to surmise your session topic from the title, they are a whole lot more likely to actually attend.

Question for the World: Planning to attend any conferences this year? Which ones are you looking forward to? Any sessions catching your eye– in a good way?

Leave a Reply

