California Girl for the Week – Day 1

I consider this “Day 1” since my first twenty four hours in San Francisco were pretty lame. Exhausted from all the flying I managed to find my hotel,  order pizza, read my San Francisco travel guide book, and sleep for a ridiculous number of hours. This afternoon was a little more impressive.

These first two days here I’m at a hotel just outside the city, necessitating figuring out the complex public transportation system to get anywhere worth going. After a minor mishap finding my way on foot to the BART station nearby, I managed to buy a ticket and get to Union Square. I was delighted to find the conference hotel is directly off of the stop. Quickly registered. I’m pretty much in love with the little pocket guides to the conference they’ve made and getting a bag for “going green” and foregoing a full conference brochure that I can get online anyway is pretty awesome.

I wandered around Union Square for awhile and then checked out a great Farmer’s Market in the United Nations Plaza and looked around the San Francisco Library. I thought it was pretty impressive that they have a whole mini library with audio tapes of books for the blind. I had been told that no trip to San Francisco was complete without a ride on a cable car so I took one out to Fisherman’s Wharf. Annoyingly long lines to get on the cable cars but the experience itself was worth having. I actually liked Fisherman’s Wharf (it reminded me of a lot of “seafaring” historical sites I’ve been to in Connecticut and Massachusetts), although I feel like I don’t know enough about maritime trivia to TRULY appreciate it. Views were lovely but the wind made for a cold soul-crushing wait in line for the cable car back. I hope I’ll have a little more time for sightseeing somewhere this week– kind of want to see the Sculpture Garden at the deYoung Museum and possibly do the bike-across-the-bridge thing, or just relax in Golden Gate Park. But mainly looking forward to geeking out in conference sessions. 🙂

I actually got to go to my first conference event tonight. Today was the AATE Pre-Conference on LGBTQQ Youth Theatre, and the final event of the evening was open to all conference attendees. It was a video showing of a play, Be Still and Know, based on the book The God Box by Alex Sanchez. The issues this play illuminated are so personal to me, I wish more people of faith could see this play and reach out to support young people struggling with them. It warmed my heart to start conference with this very special performance to reflect on.

The downside of being in a cheap hotel outside the city limits is that it’s located in too sketchy an area to be walking around late at night, so I had to spend money on a cab to get back. Luckily, after tomorrow, I’ll be sleeping just a couple of blocks from the conference site. My head is kind of spinning with the many different choices for sessions tomorrow– should be an exciting day!

Question for the World: What’s  YOUR favorite thing to do in San Francisco?

Leave a Reply

