Reading List

I purposely didn’t bring much money to the AATE conference this year, because the vendor area tends to suck me in and then not only have I spent all my money but I’m stuck trying to figure out how to transport all these new books home. I was very good and tried to just take notes about books I want to look into, publishers that seemed interesting, etc. And yet somehow I still ended up with a suitcase full of books– people were giving them away for free! The two that I actually got at conference that I think I will actually use are a collection of plays that Coleman Jennings handed out at his Jose’ Cruz Gonzalez session of his, and a book of theatre research sites in New York City.

Here’s the list of reading materials I didn’t get at session but am going to be seeking out at libraries everywhere very soon:

Playwrights I Want to Be More Familiar With

Carlos Manuel

Nicky Silver

Journals I want to Read More Of

The Journal of Aesthetic Education

Theatre Topics

Books I Need to Read

Talking Hands: What Sign Language Reveals About the Mind by Margalit Fox

Multiple Intelligences Around the World, edited by Jie-Qi Chen, Seana Moran,  and Howard Gardner

Good Work: When Excellence and Ethics Meet, by Howard Gardner, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi, and William Damon

Studio Thinking: The Real Benefits of Visual Arts Education, by Lois Hetland, Shirley Veenema, Kimberly M. Sheridan, and David N. Perkins

New Tax Guide for Writers, Artists, Performers, and Other Creative People, by Peter Jason Riley

Plays I May Check Out

9 Plays by Jose’ Cruz Gonzalez, edited by Coleman Jennings

The Hundred Dresses by Mary Hall Surface

Children’s Books I Really Should Have on My Bookshelf

Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters (already read but want to go back to it now)

Rough-Face Girl by Rafe Martin

Glass Slipper Gold Sandal: A Worldwide Cinderella by Paul Fleishman

Question for the World: What’s on your reading list?

One Response to “Reading List”

  1. Emely Says:

    Newington Children’s Theatre Company did One Hundred Dresses this past spring. I didn’t get to see it, but it sounds like an interesting story. Also, it takes place here in CT.


Leave a Reply

